Sepia Saturday 133 – baby elephants?

Today’s inspiration for Sepia Saturday is a photo of a baby elephant at Taronga Zoo, Sydney, taken by Sam Hood (1872-1953) and comes from The State Library of New South Wales via flickr. It was taken about 1930.

For some strange reason, Great Granny’s album has, once again, come up with a rather obscure but appropriate image.  Meet Dougal and the baby elephant in St Edmund in August 1928 –

Dougal and the Baby Elephant Ceylon St Edmund Aug 1928

I haven’t a clue who Dougal is.  I gave my family tree a good shake, but no Dougals fell out.  Just a few nuts.

"Dougal and the Baby" - elephant! rear of photo

Perhaps someone on Tinterwebs will find him and let me know 🙂

I suspect that this Nellyphant was a working Nellyphant, rather than an “exhibit”.  I’ve never been a fan of zoos and, as a child, I would cry when I saw the polar bears or the tigers cooped up at Edinburgh Zoo.   I’m really soft when it comes to animals (Lassie/Flipper/Black Beauty/Skippy – NOOOO!) and cried when I saw the amazing Lippizaner horses “dancing” to classical music.  A few years ago a friend persuaded me to go to see a dolphin show while on holiday in Tenerife.  I should have known I would snivel my way through it.

Check out the other elephant-inspired posts at Sepia Saturday

Happy weekend!

Jo

About Jo Graham

Scottish genealogist - this blog is for my own family history and photos
This entry was posted in Great Granny's album, Photos, Sepia Saturday. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sepia Saturday 133 – baby elephants?

  1. postcardy says:

    It must have been a very tame elephant.

  2. Jana Last says:

    Hmm, a mystery photo. Hopefully someone will be able to tell you who Dougal is.

  3. Great story and picture but I don’t know who Dougal is.

  4. QMM says:

    It is a great photo. I do not know that name either. I have seen very few elephants. Did see the one on my post but unable to find the photos but did come up with something.

  5. Wendy says:

    Was that someone’s house or a building at a zoo?

  6. Bob Scotney says:

    The building is huge, look how it gets bigger on the left. Perhaps the clothes worn by the mahout will help identify where it is. Definitely a hot country looking at the plants. India possibly as it’s an Indian elephant.

  7. Bob Scotney says:

    Jo there is a Robert Dougal buried at Dunblane who served out in India – check out http://www.britishmedals.us/collections/TB/heic/dougal.html for starters.

  8. Pingback: Follow Friday: This Week’s Favorite Finds » Climbing My Family Tree

  9. Val says:

    That looks like it was taken in India (or possibly Burma). Were any of your family in India? Just because it’s signed with ‘St Edmund’ doesn’t mean it was taken there. 🙂

    • Jo says:

      Not that I know of – I wonder if this was a family friend rather than a relation. Perhaps I will be able to match him up in another photo in the collection. Fingers crossed!

Thanks for following. Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear what you think :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.