Up a Tree K.I.S.S.I.N.G? – Sepia Saturday

I picked a random photo from Great Granny’s album for this Saturday.  It is dated around 1928, and again, we have Granny messing about with her pals, the Hardie boys.

Granny graduated from the “Edinburgh School of Cookery and Domestic Economy” (also known as “Atholl Crescent”) with a Housewife’s Diploma in May 1925 and went to live with the Hardie family as a companion to her aunt.  Consequently she became very close to her cousins, Frank, Ian and Leslie.

It seems that Granny was game for climbing trees, in a skirt and a good coat and wearing white stockings.  Those Hardies were a Very Bad Influence on an 18 year old girl!  What would her no doubt “tweedy” posh Edinburgh lady teachers have thought of such an outrage?

Perhaps she might have got better marks for House Book-keeping if she hadn’t spent so much time larking around in such an inappropriate manner, unbecoming of a Young Lady, but then I wouldn’t have a lovely album documenting her fun times at New Farm with her cousins.  I know which option I’d have gone for!  Give me a Second Class Housewife’s Diploma and a lot of fun with my cousins any day 🙂

Check out other interesting Sepia Saturday posts from around the world.  Why not have a go yourself, go on, you know you want to, and it’s fun!

Jo

About Jo Graham

Scottish genealogist - this blog is for my own family history and photos
This entry was posted in Great Granny's album, Sepia Saturday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Up a Tree K.I.S.S.I.N.G? – Sepia Saturday

  1. Barbara says:

    Jo, I knew immediately that was your Grannie. But thought you were kidding about the Housewife’s Diploma, then to my dismay, I see you weren’t. Imagine my surprise! Wonderful post, as always.

    • Jo says:

      Thanks Barbara – she died when I was 3 so I feel I am really getting to know her through the photos and the further research 🙂

  2. housewife’s diploma! guess it’s the similar to a home economist degree.

  3. postcardy says:

    The idea of a Housewife’s Diploma seems really strange now.

  4. Muse Swings says:

    So…her housekeeping wasn’t “half-bad” – it was 3/4th good! Glad to see she chose fun and tree climbing over a first class diploma. I’m with her all the way!

  5. Christine says:

    What wonderful camaraderie between those three. Very sweet.

  6. Tattered and Lost says:

    Just saying the phrase “domestic economy” makes me smile. I’ve never heard this before. That should be on t-shirts.

  7. Tracie says:

    I love the photo Jo~ and I’m so grateful they did not have Housewifes Dipolma’s when I was in school, *sigh* I’d still be there trying to pass the cooking 🙂

  8. Lori E says:

    I would have been kicked out of that school for sure. You have the best photos. How lucky. Thanks for stopping by. Have a lovely Easter Sunday.

  9. It looks like a career in housewifery was really hard. I agree with Lori. I wouldn’t have lasted a day.
    Love the photo. They look like they’re having such fun!
    Barbara

  10. wow your granny sounds like she was loads of fun! My mom was a tomboy too and loved climbing trees and hanging out with the guys. Great photos, love em!

  11. She went to school to be a housewife..I would have flunked out for sure.
    Your Grandma seems to be having a really good time in the tree:)

  12. Pingback: Follow Friday: This Week’s Favorite Finds » Climbing My Family Tree

  13. Love the picture! Looks like she had a fun life! I have never seen a Housewife’s Diploma, very interesting!

  14. So now there are two Geneabloggers grannies who liked to climb trees. What a riot. By the way: I have never heard of a Housewife’s Diploma. Verrrry interesting.

  15. Pingback: Ormiston Mercat Cross | Images Past

  16. Pingback: #Sepia Saturday 100th post celebrations | Images Past

  17. Pingback: Sepia Saturday 126 | Images Past

  18. Pingback: Sepia Saturday 139. I’m 2 today! Ice cream & jelly! | Images Past

Thanks for following. Please leave a comment - I'd love to hear what you think :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.